Gum treatment

maladies gencives scaled

Gingivitis

Gingivitis is a widespread disease caused by the accumulation of plaque and tartar on the teeth, which causes inflammation of the gums.

It affects adults as well as children and teenagers.

The symptoms of gingivitis are very easy to detect:

  • the gums swell, become red and have a smooth or shiny appearance;
  • gums bleed when brushing, flossing, or spontaneously for no apparent reason;
  • the appearance of periodontal pockets (spaces between the gums and the teeth) is also possible in certain cases;
  • one notes chronic bad breath (halitosis), even after brushing the teeth.

Periodontitis

Periodontitis is gingivitis that has not been treated or that has been detected at a late stage. It thus reaches the periodontium (tissues which support the teeth). It represents the most advanced stage of the disease of the gums, and it is serious because the damage which it causes is irreversible. The most significant result is the loss of the teeth surrounded by the periodontium affected by the disease.

The damage of periodontitis is associated with the periodontal pockets which form around the teeth where the tartar accumulated. With time, the bacteria present in these pockets destroy the periodontium, and more particularly, the periodontal ligament and the alveolar bone. By doing so, the teeth will become looser little by little, which could make them appear longer.

gingivite exemple
maladie gencives parodontite

The teeth will then become loose and eventually fall out if no intervention by a dental health professional is performed. The mobility of one or more teeth is what usually leads a patient to see their dentist rather than the pain that is usually not present at this stage of the disease.

Several factors can encourage the appearance of periodontitis:

  • the quantity and the type of bacteria in the periodontal pockets;
  • the presence of certain diseases which influence the effectiveness of the immune system of the patient and its capacity to fight the bacterial infection which has started;
  • genetics;
  • smoking;
  • diabetes.

Preventive Measures

Gingivitis and periodontitis can be prevented by simple means:

  • IMPORTANT: contrary to what most people think, it is necessary to floss BEFORE brushing your teeth because when the floss comes out of the interdental space, it can propel food debris and bacteria onto the teeth;
  • Brushing teeth: it should be done at least twice a day, ideally after meals but especially before going to bed at night in order to remove the film created by bacteria with the food deposits accumulated during the day;
  • Dental flossing: floss, when used properly once a day, ideally at bedtime, will remove food debris and bacteria from between the teeth, areas that are difficult for the toothbrush to reach. To make good use of it, it’s best to wrap the floss around your middle fingers; this will give you more dexterity;
  • Stop smoking: smoking greatly increases the risk of developing periodontal disease.
soie dentaire et brosse a dent 1000

The Gingival Recession

When a significant amount of gum attached around one or more teeth is missing, the survival of these teeth is in jeopardy. This condition is a gingival recession, also called receding gums. Gingival recession can cause, in the most severe cases, the loss of teeth if the level of attached gums is inadequate and too much of the tooth root is exposed.

Gingival recession can occur as a result of gum disease or orthodontic treatment. In many other cases, it can be caused by improper tooth brushing (too vigorous or using the wrong technique).

 

Regular Visits to the Dentist

An annual visit is essential, and sometimes more frequent visits may be recommended for individuals whose gums and teeth pose special challenges.

  • During this check-up, a clinical examination is performed to evaluate the quality of the teeth and gums. X-rays are also taken to allow the dentist to obtain additional information about the teeth and surrounding structures that are not visible to the naked eye;
  • If tartar has accumulated on the teeth, professional scaling is performed. To prevent it from coming back too quickly, advice can be given by the hygienist or dentist;
  • It is important for pregnant women to have their mouth examined by a dental professional at least once during pregnancy.

Gum Surgery

The Gingival Graft

A gingival graft can be performed to restore a sufficient amount of gum around the teeth or around the roots of teeth that have been exposed by loosening. Talk to your dental surgeon who will be able to advise you and refer you to the right professional if necessary.

The success rate of gum grafts is very high. The beneficial effects of these grafts last for many years, although slightly less in smokers.

Jeunes adultes

Gingivectomy

Gingivectomy is a surgical procedure that consists of removing part of the gum. It is performed under local anesthesia and usually does not result in complications.

Recent techniques allow for minor gingivectomies to be performed using a soft tissue laser, resulting in even less discomfort and post-operative complications for the patient.

Couple

Gingivoplasty

Gingivoplasty is a minor surgical procedure to reshape the contour of the gum. It makes a smile more attractive and harmonious and is a complement to a gingivectomy, which alone would not give optimal results.

Local anesthesia is required to perform a gingivoplasty and a soft tissue laser can be used. Complications are rare and post-operative discomfort is minimal.

Gingivoplasty is often used as part of orthodontic treatment to finalize the aesthetic appearance of the smile. In fact, by moving teeth with crowns of different lengths, the smile line may not be optimal because of the gums that irregularly contour the teeth.

A dental health professional may also use gingivoplasty as a treatment for gum disease. In this case, gingivoplasty can restore the gums to a normal shape after treatment of deformed, damaged or necrotic alveolar bone.

sourire familles 6 1000
New patient

Traitement de gencives (parodontie)

maladies gencives scaled

La gingivite

La gingivite est une maladie très répandue qui est causée par l’accumulation de plaque et de tartre sur les dents, ce qui provoque l’inflammation de la gencive.
Elle atteint aussi bien les adultes que les enfants et les adolescents.
Les symptômes de la gingivite sont très faciles à détecter :

  • les gencives se gonflent, deviennent rouges et ont un aspect lisse ou brillant;
  • les gencives saignent lors du brossage de dents, lors de l’utilisation de la soie dentaire ou encore spontanément sans raison apparente;
  • l’apparition de poches parodontales (espaces entre la gencive et les dents) est également possible dans certains cas;
  • on note une mauvaise haleine (halitose) persistante, même après le brossage des dents.

La parodontite

La parodontite est une gingivite qui n’a pas été traitée ou qui a été détectée à un stade tardif. Elle atteint donc le parodonte (tissus qui soutiennent les dents). Elle représente le stade le plus avancé de la maladie des gencives et elle est grave car les dégâts qu’elle cause sont irréversibles. Le résultat le plus probant est la perte des dents entourées du parodonte atteint par la maladie.

Les dommages de la parodontite sont associés aux poches parodontales qui se forment autour des dents où le tartre s’est accumulé. Avec le temps, les bactéries présentes dans ces poches détruisent le parodonte, et plus particulièrement, le ligament parodontal et l’os alvéolaire. Ce faisant, les dents se déchausseront peu à peu, ce qui pourrait les faire paraître plus longues.

gingivite exemple
maladie gencives parodontite

Les dents deviendront ensuite mobiles et tomberont éventuellement si aucune intervention par un professionnel de la santé dentaire n’est effectuée. La mobilité d’une ou plusieurs dents est ce qui amène habituellement un patient à consulter son dentiste plutôt que la douleur qui n’est généralement pas présente à ce stade de la maladie.

Plusieurs facteurs peuvent favoriser l’apparition de la parodontite :

  • la quantité et le type de bactéries se trouvant dans les poches parodontales;
  • la présence de certaines maladies qui influencent l’efficacité du système immunitaire du patient et sa capacité à combattre l’infection bactérienne qui s’est installée;
  • la génétique;
  • le tabagisme;
  • le diabète.

Mesures préventives

La gingivite et la parodontite peuvent se prévenir par des moyens simples :

  • IMPORTANT : contrairement à ce que la plupart des gens pensent, il faut passer la soie dentaire AVANT de se brosser les dents car lorsque la soie dentaire sort de l’espace interdentaire, elle risque de propulser des débris de nourriture et des bactéries sur les dents;
  • Brossage de dents : il doit s’effectuer au moins deux fois par jour, idéalement après les repas mais surtout avant de se coucher le soir afin d’enlever la pellicule créée par les bactéries avec les dépôts alimentaires accumulés durant la journée;
  • Soie dentaire : la soie dentaire, lorsqu’elle est passée correctement une fois par jour, idéalement au coucher, permet de déloger des débris alimentaires et des bactéries qui se trouvent entre les dents, endroits difficilement atteignables par la brosse à dents. Pour en faire bon usage, c’est préférable de l’enrouler autour des majeurs ; ça vous donnera plus de dextérité;
  • Arrêt du tabagisme : fumer augmente considérablement le risque de développer des maladies parodontales.
soie dentaire et brosse a dent 1000

La récession gingivale

Lorsqu’il manque une quantité importante de gencive attachée autour d’une ou de plusieurs dents, la survie de ces dents est en péril. Cette condition est la récession gingivale, aussi appelée déchaussement dentaire. La récession gingivale peut causer, dans les cas les plus sévères, la perte de dents si le niveau de gencive attachée est inadéquat et qu’une trop grande partie de la racine dentaire est exposée.

La récession gingivale peut se produire à la suite d’une maladie de gencive ou dans de nombreux autres cas, un brossage de dents inadéquat (trop vigoureux , utilisant une mauvaise technique ). Pour améliorer cette condition une greffe gingivale peut être réalisée comme illustré dans l’image ci-contre.

Visites régulières chez le dentiste

Une visite annuelle est essentielle et parfois, une fréquence plus régulière peut être recommandée pour les individus dont les gencives et les dents posent des défis particuliers.

  • Durant cette visite de contrôle, un examen clinique est effectué afin d’évaluer la qualité des dents et des gencives. Des radiographies sont également prises pour permettre au dentiste d’obtenir des informations supplémentaires sur les dents et les structures avoisinantes qui ne sont pas visibles à l’œil nu;
  • Si du tartre s’est accumulé sur les dents, un détartrage professionnel est effectué. Pour éviter qu’il ne revienne trop rapidement, des conseils peuvent être prodigués par l’hygiéniste ou le dentiste;
  • Il est important pour les femmes enceintes de faire examiner leur bouche par un professionnel de la santé dentaire au moins une fois durant la grossesse.

La greffe gingivale

Une greffe gingivale peut être effectuée pour redonner une quantité suffisante de gencive autour des dents ou autour des racines de dents dénudées par le déchaussement. Parlez en à votre chirurgien dentiste qui saura vous conseiller et vous diriger le cas échéant vers le bon professionnel.

Le taux de succès des greffes de gencive est très élevé. Les effets bénéfiques de ces greffes perdurent pendant de nombreuses années selon les conditions de santé.

Jeunes adultes

La gingivectomie

La gingivectomie est une procédure chirurgicale qui consiste à enlever une partie de la gencive. Elle est effectuée sous anesthésie locale et n’entraîne habituellement pas de complications.

De récentes techniques permettent de faire des gingivectomies mineures à l’aide d’un laser à tissus mous, ce qui occasionne encore moins d’inconfort et de complications post-opératoires pour le patient.

Couple

La gingivoplastie

La gingivoplastie est une intervention chirurgicale mineure ayant pour but de remodeler le contour de la gencive. Elle permet de rendre un sourire plus attrayant et harmonieux et de compléter une gingivectomie qui, à elle seule, ne donnerait pas des résultats optimaux.

Une anesthésie locale est nécessaire pour effectuer une gingivoplastie et un laser à tissus mous peut être utilisé. Les complications sont rares et les inconforts post-opératoires sont minimes.

La gingivoplastie est souvent utilisée dans le cadre d’un traitement orthodontique afin de finaliser l’esthétisme du sourire. En effet, en déplaçant des dents ayant des couronnes de différentes longueurs, il se peut que la ligne du sourire ne soit pas optimale à cause de la gencive qui contourne les dents de façon irrégulière.

Un professionnel de la santé dentaire peut également faire appel à la gingivoplastie dans le cadre d’un traitement de maladies des gencives. Dans ce cas, elle permet de redonner à la gencive une forme normale après avoir traité l’os alvéolaire déformé, endommagé ou nécrosé.

sourire familles 6 1000
Nouveau patient